I’m not as consistent in my workouts as I should be. Therefore I frequently find myself surprised at what happens to my body when I workout. What happened to me this week is a fine example.

On Monday at lunch I ran close to three miles, and it was not a necessarily an easy run. There were speed intervals in there where I pushed myself really hard, and it had been about a week and a half since I last ran. MONTHS since I last ran at lunch.

Tuesday I ran a solid 30 minutes. No speed work, but a good steady run.

Wednesday I had a sore throat. My coworkers chased me out of the office with Lysol.

Today I stayed home sick and napped while Netflix played in the background.

So besides running by body into a common cold (which tends to happen when anyone burns the candle at both ends like I’ve been doing) I have been basically constantly starving. A hungry hungry hippo. That’s led to some pretty messy small-scale binges.

There’s not a lot I can really do about it right now. I mean it’s been eaten, and I could beat myself up with guilt but all that will do is make me resent this journey and make the junk food look all the more better. I can’t really counter act it with exercise at this point, as crappy as I’m feeling. I’m sure the cold will blow over in a day or two and I’ll be back to my good habits again, but one of the things I’m working on is being nicer to myself.

So here are my affirmations:

  1. I do not hate myself for what I ate today. I will have days where I don’t meet my nutritional goals, but the most important thing overall is to have more good days than bad ones.
  2. I am proud of my strong body for fighting this cold and carrying me through my miles this week. I will treat it well and reward it with good nutrition and healthy habits.
  3. Regardless of my side or weight, I will be a beautiful bride.

I got on the scale on Wednesdays (my new official weigh day) and I was up a few pounds. Whether that was junk food bloat from the wedding weekend, some kind of scale activity from the increased workouts or just plain old water weight I don’t know, but I’m anxious to have it gone!

Onto Friday and the weekend with a fuzzy head and renewed goals. 470-something days until my wedding, and 40 lbs to lose. I can do it!

Leave a Reply

